November 29, 2015

Luca Signorelli, The Elect (detail), Chapel of San Brizio, Duomo, Orvieto, 1499-1502

And may he so strengthen your hearts in holiness that you may be blameless before our God and Father at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all his saints(NRSV, 1 Thessalonians, 3:13)

Christ Church Cathedral Choir Notes
First Sunday of Advent

Click to go immediately to:


Gentile Bellini, Procession in Piazza San Marco (detail), Gallerie dell'Accademia, Venice, 1496
In place of evensong this coming Sunday, there will be a festive procession of lessons and carols. Click to access the programme.

"O" by Eric Gill

"O" Antiphons are an important element in Advent liturgy since the ninth century. A number of them will be sung during this year's Procession of Carols and Lessons for Advent.

Click to read about "O" Antiphons and listen to them in plainchant sung by the Dominican students of Blackfriars, Oxford, as well as versions by Healey Willan, Arvo Pärt and others.  
George Frideric Handel, Messiah

The Annual Handel's Messiah Sing-along will take place at Christ Church Cathedral on Saturday, December 12, 4:30 pm, with the Cathedral Singers and orchestra, Patrick Wedd directing.  Scores will be available. Free admission / voluntary contribution.

Click to read about Messiah with access to a number of free online performances.

McGill University 12:30 Noon-Hour Organ Recital Series
The Wolff organ of Redpath Hall - Admission Free

November 29, Alcee Chriss


Click to go to Bach Cantatas for Online Listening.

Netherlandish Miniaturist, Entry into Jerusalem
Très Belles Heures de Notre Dame de Jean de Berry
Museo Civico d'Arte Antica, Palazzo Madama, Turin, 1409

Bach Cantatas for the First Sunday of Advent:

Click to go to Johann Sebastian Bach, Schwingt freudig euch empor / Soar in your joy, Cantata 36, with performances by Gardiner, Harnoncourt, Kuijken,Leusink and Rilling.
Click to go to Johann Sebastian Bach, Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland / Now come, Saviour of the Gentile, Cantata 61, with performances by Gardiner,Harnoncourt,  Leusink, Richter and Thomas.
Click to go to Johann Sebastian Bach, Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland / Now come, saviour of the gentiles, Cantata 62, with performances by Gardiner,Harnoncourt, Kamp and Leusink.